Tumblelog by Soup.io
Newer posts are loading.
You are at the newest post.
Click here to check if anything new just came in.

Classical Music Review: Fine Prokofiev, Problematic New Work From Fw Symphony

By those terms, most of what modern symphony orchestras play is ancient music. The Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra has been confounding some of those expectations this season. Most classical programs are including a recent composition, many from countries not often represented in our concert halls. This weeks program includes a 2009 work, revised in 2012, by this seasons composer-in-residence, the go here now Irishman Donnacha Dennehy. The oldest work is the 1935 Second Violin Concerto by Prokofiev, with Prokofievs 1952 Seventh Symphony falling in between. The symphony, presented with the alternative loud ending, got a really fine performance Friday night at Bass Performance Hall. Start to finish, music director Miguel Harth-Bedoya skillfully managed one of Prokofievs most populist scores.
Read more http://www.dallasnews.com/entertainment/columnists/scott-cantrell/20140110-classical-music-review-fine-prokofiev-problematic-new-work-from-fw-symphony.ece

Don't be the product, buy the product!